Universal Yoga


This class is taught by:

Doug Johnson

Douglas Johnson, founder of Maha Patha Yoga, has been teaching meditation and yoga for over 20 years. He got his start teaching Zen meditation at the Atlanta Soto Zen Center in the early 90s. Later, he was certified to teach Kripalu Yoga by Deva Parnell, the former director of teacher training at the Kripalu Yoga Center. In 2010 ‘Yoganad’ Michael Carroll, current Dean of the Kripalu School of Yoga and founder of Pranakriya Yoga, certified Douglas to teach Advanced Pranayama. In 2013, Douglas began his studies in Anatomy, Yin Yoga and Chakra Meditation with internationally renowned yoga teacher Paul Grilley. This year, Douglas plans to study with Ukrainian yoga master Andrey Lappa, founder of Universal Yoga, and complete his 500 Hour Yoga Teacher Certification with Paul Grilley.

 

Since getting certified, Douglas has taught well over 5000 yoga classes in a variety of styles including Kripalu; Yin; Vinyasa; Power; Hot; Restorative; Gentle & Meditation. Currently he teaches classes throughout the Metro Atlanta area and regularly leads retreats, trainings, and workshops.

 

In addition to receiving certifications from Paul & Suzee Grilley (Yin Yoga / Anatomy / Chakra Mediation), Deva Parnell (Kripalu Yoga), and ‘Yoganand’ Michael Carroll (Advanced Pranayama for Pranakriya Yoga Teachers), Douglas has completed workshops and master classes with Andrey Lappa (Universal Yoga), ‘Yogarupa’ Rod Stryker (Para Yoga), Bryan Kest (Power Yoga), Kino McGregor (Ashtanga Yoga), Sarah Ivanhoe, and David Newman ‘Durga Das’.

 

Words of Wisdom: “A man should look for what is, and not for what he thinks should be.”
~ Albert Einstein

Universal Yoga - developed by Ukrainian yogi Andrey Lappa - is a dynamic practice with unique qualities not found in other styles of yoga. Some of the elements unique to the style we will be exploring in this class include: asanas for the arms and shoulders; turns on the mat; and different kinds of vinyasa (belly up, belly down,
side down, chakra, and transit). Asanas are linked seamlessly with turns forward and backward on the mat. While the class is intended to be challenging, modifications, alternatives and options are offered to accommodate all levels. Room temperature is WARM - 83-89 degrees.

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue May 30 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Thu Jun 01 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Tue Jun 06 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Thu Jun 08 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Tue Jun 13 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Thu Jun 15 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Tue Jun 20 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Thu Jun 22 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Tue Jun 27 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Thu Jun 29 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Tue Jul 04 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Thu Jul 06 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Tue Jul 11 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Thu Jul 13 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Tue Jul 18 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Thu Jul 20 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Tue Jul 25 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Thu Jul 27 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Tue Aug 01 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody
  • Thu Aug 03 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Doug Johnson
    at Dunwoody